YOUTUBE PRESENTATION OF OUR LATEST PLANT IN A BOX!

The concept for a fully self-contained processing facility emerged from two needs: 1) the desire of poultry producers to expand markets, and 2) the scarcity of accessible USDA sanctioned facilities in the country.

 Twenty-three million chickens are processed every day in America, nearly all in a few hundred facilities. While natural and organic fruit and vegetable consumption has grown 20-24% per year recently, meat sales have bottle-necked at processing, especially for the smallest producers. The trend toward healthier eating is here to stay; the blue sky to produce, process and market local poultry is nearly endless when we lower costs through processing efficiency. 

 

Niche Meat Processor Assistance Network Webinar

                                                       Filmed on January 26, 2017 at 9am PST/11am CST/12pm EST 1 hour

Click Below

                                                               "Think Inside the Box: Containerized Meat Processing Solutions"                                                      

 

Customized for your Needs

The Team

Photo Credit: ms.akr

Photo Credit: ms.akr

David Schafer has been a purebred cattle breeder, natural meat producer and pioneer grass-fed marketer in the midwest. He founded the Green Hills Farm Project farmers group in 1988, authored the original home-made tub plucker plans and founded Featherman Equipment in 1999. He incorporated both Plant in a Box LLC and Prairie Schooner LLC - a pastured poultry conveyance solution - in 2012. David is an author and public speaker. His two “Greatest Life” books chronicle his journey into sustainable agriculture. David and his wife, Renée DeTar, founder of KC Yoga Therapy,  live in Kansas City. He is past President of the American Pastured Poultry Producers Association.

Our Team

Increasing your Potential